“Dreams do not come true just because you dream them,” says Shonda Rhimes in her book Year of Yes: How to Dance it Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person. “It’s hard work that makes things happen. It’s hard work that creates change.” Rhimes is known for producing the popular TV series Grey’s Anatomy and Bridgerton, among others, and she recently signed a $100 million deal with Netflix. Given her many successes, it’s fair to say she knows a thing or two about dreaming big, and making those dreams come true.

Women who dared to dream big

Rhimes is one of many successful women who have had grand ambitions and seen them through. Accomplished Canadian author Margaret Atwood has published dozens of works, ranging from poetry to award-winning novels throughout her career. In 2019, she received the rare Companion of Honour award for her services in literature from Britain's Queen Elizabeth II. Earning an undergraduate degree from the University of Toronto and a Master’s degree in English literature from Radcliffe College, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, she studied hard to learn her craft.

But it’s not only writers and producers who can go on to achieve great things. Look at American biochemist Jennifer Doudna, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry alongside French microbiologist Emmanuelle Charpentier in 2020, for their pioneering work in CRISPR gene editing. With a PhD from Harvard Medical School, Doudna has spent the majority of her career uncovering the structure of RNA. Another famous scientist, Roberta Bondar, was the first Canadian woman and first neurologist in space. She not only earned a PhD in neurobiology, but is also a Doctor of Medicine. Her accomplishments in space medicine and commitment to the environment led her to be promoted from an Officer to a Companion of the Order of Canada in 2019.

Or how about chef Clare Smyth, the first and only female chef in the UK to hold three Michelin stars (a massively big deal in the restaurant world). A right-hand to the incomparable Gordan Ramsay for eight years, she opened her first solo restaurant in London in 2017 to rave reviews from critics and patrons alike.

Raising children to be successful

Esther Wojcicki knows a thing or two about raising children to be the best versions of themselves. Journalist, teacher and author of How to Raise Successful People, Wojcicki has three daughters, two of which are CEOs (only of, you know, YouTube and 23andMe), and the third, a professor of pediatrics at the University of California. “Watching my daughters navigate the world with grit and integrity has been one of the greatest rewards of my life,” she writes. As you can imagine, parents are constantly asking her for advice (hence the book).

She believes raising capable, successful people is all about implementing these five fundamental values: trust, respect, independence, collaboration and kindness. For example, nurturing your child’s unique gift to the world is one way you’re respecting them. “It’s supporting them as they identify and pursue their own goals,” she explains. 

We believe in the power of education

Like all the women above demonstrate, education has the power to change you and change the world—for the better. Bondar wouldn’t have been able to make it to outer space without getting a degree (let’s be real, she needed more than one!); and Smyth might have had a much harder time succeeding in Ramsay’s kitchen without her culinary school training to arm her with the fundamentals.

At CST Spark, we salute Wojcicki’s approach to parenting. Raising successful children requires nurturing, and giving them the tools to reach for the stars (Michelin stars, in some cases!). What are their interests? What gets them excited? What is a strength they might not yet have noticed in themselves? Being a parent also means allowing your child to be exactly who they are. Let them try and fail. Try and succeed. Doing so nurtures their future. “You are the parent your child needs, and with your trust and respect, your child will become exactly the person they are meant to be,” says Wojcicki.

With nurturing comes planning for their futures

There’s no arguing about the importance of education, but the reality is the cost is only going up, which is why at CST Spark, we’re passionate about helping you save for your child’s future and making it as easy as possible. Did you know you can open an RESP in as few as five minutes and with as little as $10 a month or a single contribution of $500, all without stepping outside? We rebalance your RESP automatically as your child ages with one goal in mind: to help you pay for your child’s post-secondary education and help them follow their dreams—wherever their dreams take them (who knows, it could be Mars).

Education is more important than it’s ever been

The world is changing every day along with the jobs that will be in demand for your child, 10 or 20 years from now. This is thanks to advancements in technology, particularly artificial intelligence. AI isn’t just going to impact the job market, but how students learn as well. With all of these things in mind, education is arguably going to be even more important tomorrow than it is today, which is why we recommend setting your little dreamer up with an RESP as soon as you can. 

With passion comes hard work

Echoing the sentiment of Rhimes, author John C. Maxwell, known for his books on leadership, says, “Dreams don’t work unless you do.” Meaning, even if we have a passion for a topic or discipline—be it sports or film—work is so necessary to make those dreams come true. Even so, it shouldn’t stop us from following what drives us; instead, it should inspire us not to give up on our wildest dreams.

Maybe your tot says he wants to fly to space one day or your teen is working hard in chemistry because she wants to cure cancer. Whatever that dream is, it all starts with education and that’s where we come in. We’ll get you set up with a CST Spark RESP - the smart, simple way to save for your child’s post-secondary education. What are you waiting for? Get started now!

 

CST Bright PlanTM is only sold by Prospectus. Copies may be obtained from www.cstspark.ca or by calling 1 (800) 461 7100. 

C.S.T. Spark Inc. is the distributor and manager of the CST Bright Plan.

You just learned about:

Ready to start saving?

You may also like

Schedule a free consultation

Have some questions? No problem, schedule a free consultation at a time that is convenient for you.

« Les rêves ne se réalisent pas simplement parce qu’on en rêve, » remarque Shonda Rhimes dans son livre Year of Yes : How to Dance it Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person. « C’est le travail qui fait que les choses se réalisent. C’est en travaillant fort que l’on parvient à changer les choses. » Shonda Rhimes est connue pour avoir produit les populaires séries télévisées Dre Grey, leçons d’anatomie et La chronique des Bridgerton, entre autres, et elle a récemment signé un contrat de 100 millions de dollars avec Netflix. Au vu de ses nombreux succès, on peut dire qu’elle sait voir grand et réaliser ses rêves.

Des femmes qui ont osé voir grand

Rhimes est l’une des nombreuses femmes accomplies qui ont mené à bien de grandes ambitions. Margaret Atwood, écrivaine canadienne de renommée mondiale, a publié des dizaines d’ouvrages, allant de la poésie aux romans primés, tout au long de sa carrière. En 2019, elle a été faite membre de l’Ordre britannique des compagnons d’honneur par la reine Elizabeth II pour ses services rendus à la littérature. Diplômée de l’université de Toronto et titulaire d’une maîtrise en littérature anglaise du Radcliffe College, à Cambridge, dans le Massachusetts, la romancière s’est beaucoup investie dans l’apprentissage de son métier.

Mais il n’y a pas que les écrivains et les producteurs qui réussissent à réaliser de grandes choses. Prenez l’exemple de la biochimiste américaine Jennifer Doudna, qui a reçu le prix Nobel de chimie aux côtés de la microbiologiste française Emmanuelle Charpentier en 2020, pour l’invention de la technique de ciseaux génétiques CRISPR. Titulaire d’un doctorat de la Harvard Medical School, Doudna a consacré la majeure partie de sa carrière à découvrir la structure de l’ARN. Une autre scientifique célèbre, Roberta Bondar, a été la première femme canadienne et la première neurologue à se rendre dans l’espace. Elle a non seulement obtenu un doctorat en neurobiologie, mais elle est également docteur en médecine. Ses réalisations dans le domaine de la médecine spatiale et son engagement environnemental l’ont amenée à être promue d’officier à compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada en 2019.

Ou encore la chef Clare Smyth, première et seule femme au Royaume-Uni à détenir trois étoiles Michelin (un exploit colossal dans le monde de la restauration). Bras droit pendant huit ans de l’incomparable Gordan Ramsay, elle a ouvert son premier restaurant à Londres en 2017 avec un succès retentissant auprès des critiques et des clients.

Élever ses enfants pour qu’ils réussissent

Élever des enfants pour qu’ils se réalisent pleinement, Esther Wojcicki en sait quelque chose. Journaliste, enseignante et auteur de How to Raise Successful People, Wojcicki a trois filles, dont deux sont PDG (chez YouTube et 23andMe), et la troisième, professeure de pédiatrie à l’université de Californie. « Voir mes filles naviguer dans le monde avec courage et intégrité a été l’une des plus grandes récompenses de ma vie, » écrit-elle. Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, les parents lui demandent constamment des conseils (d’où le livre).

Elle estime qu’élever des personnes capables de réussir consiste à mettre en œuvre ces cinq valeurs fondamentales : la confiance, le respect, l’indépendance, la collaboration et la gentillesse. Par exemple, le fait de cultiver les talents uniques de votre enfant témoigne de votre respect envers lui. « Il s’agit de les soutenir dans l’identification et la poursuite de leurs propres objectifs, » explique-t-elle.

Nous croyons que les études jouent un rôle essentiel

Comme le démontrent toutes les femmes qui précèdent, les études ont le pouvoir de vous changer et de changer le monde — pour le mieux. Bondar n’aurait jamais pu se rendre dans l’espace sans diplôme (soyons réalistes, il lui en a fallu plus d’un!) et Smyth aurait peut-être eu beaucoup plus de mal à réussir dans la cuisine de Ramsay sans les bases qu’elle a acquises à l’école culinaire.

Chez CST Spark, nous saluons l’approche de Wojcicki en matière d’éducation des enfants. Pour élever des enfants qui réussissent, il faut les encadrer et leur donner les outils nécessaires pour atteindre les étoiles (les étoiles Michelin, dans certains cas!). À quoi s’intéressent-ils? Qu’est-ce qui les interpelle? Ont-ils une force particulière dont ils n’ont peut-être pas encore conscience? Être parent, c’est aussi permettre à votre enfant d’être lui-même. Permettez-lui d’essayer et d’échouer. Essayer et réussir. C’est ainsi que vous cultiverez leur avenir. « Vous êtes le parent dont votre enfant a besoin, et avec votre confiance et votre respect, il atteindra son plein potentiel, » ajoute Madame Wojcicki.

Aider les enfants à s’épanouir en planifiant leur avenir

L’importance des études est indéniable, mais leur coût ne cesse d’augmenter. C’est pourquoi, chez CST Spark, nous sommes soucieux de vous aider à épargner pour l’avenir de vos enfants et de vous simplifier la vie au maximum. Saviez-vous que vous pouvez ouvrir un REEE en cinq minutes à peine et avec aussi peu que 10 $ par mois ou une cotisation forfaitaire de 500 $, le tout sans avoir à mettre les pieds dehors? Nous rééquilibrons automatiquement votre REEE au fur et à mesure que votre enfant vieillit, avec un seul objectif en tête : vous aider à payer les études postsecondaires de votre enfant et l’aider à poursuivre ses rêves, où qu’ils le mènent (qui sait, ce pourrait être Mars).

Les études sont plus importantes que jamais

Le monde est en constante évolution, tout comme les emplois qui seront en demande dans 10 ou 20 ans. C’est grâce aux progrès de la technologie, notamment de l’intelligence artificielle. L’intelligence artificielle n’aura pas seulement un impact sur le marché du travail, mais aussi sur la façon dont les étudiants apprennent. Compte tenu de tous ces facteurs, il est clair que les études seront encore plus importantes dans le futur qu’elles le sont aujourd’hui. C’est pourquoi nous vous recommandons d’ouvrir un REEE pour votre petit rêveur dès que possible.

La passion s’accompagne d’un travail acharné

Faisant écho au sentiment de Rhimes, l’auteur John C. Maxwell, connu pour ses livres sur le leadership, déclare : « Les rêves ne se réalisent que si vous y mettez du vôtre. » Autrement dit, même si un sujet ou une discipline nous passionne — que ce soit le sport ou le cinéma — il faut absolument travailler pour que ces rêves deviennent réalité. Cela ne doit pas nous empêcher de poursuivre ce qui nous motive ; au contraire, cela doit nous inciter à ne pas abandonner nos rêves les plus fous.

Peut-être que votre bout de chou affirme vouloir s’envoler un jour vers l’espace ou que votre adolescente se donne à fond en chimie parce qu’elle veut vaincre le cancer. Quel que soit le rêve, les études sont le point de départ et c’est là que nous intervenons. Nous vous aiderons à ouvrir un REEE CST Spark, le moyen simple et judicieux d’épargner pour les études postsecondaires de votre enfant. Qu’attendez-vous? Lancez-vous dès maintenant!

 

 

Le Plan FutéMC CST est vendu par prospectus uniquement. Des exemplaires peuvent être obtenus à l’adresse www.cstspark.ca ou en appelant le 1.800.461.7100.

C.S.T. Spark inc. est le distributeur et le gestionnaire du Plan Futé CST.

Vous venez d'apprendre:

 

Prêt à épargner?

 

Ces articles pourraient vous intéresser

Prenez rendez-vous pour une consultation gratuite

Vous avez des questions? Aucun problème, prenez rendez-vous pour une consultation gratuite au moment qui vous convient.