When you invest in a child’s education, the government invests in that child, too. When you invest in a child’s education, the government invests in that child, too.

The Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG) is available to any beneficiary who is a Canadian resident who has an RESP. The government of Canada matches 20% of RESP contributions, up to $500 in a year, to a lifetime maximum of $7,200 per child. In other words, by investing around $2,500 a year for 15 years, you could qualify for $7,200 in government grants for your loved one.

There may be additional provincial grants too, depending on your income and province. For example:

  • The Quebec government provides 10% on the first $2,500 contributed annually to an RESP by residents of Quebec, up to a lifetime maximum of $3,600. Plus, depending on your family’s income, your child’s RESP might qualify for another 5% to 10% on the first$500 contributed to the RESP each year.
  • The government of British Columbia offers a one-time $1,200 grant for children aged 6 years old up to the day before they turn 9 who live in BC and have a qualifying RESP account.
  • The Saskatchewan government had been providing 10% on the first $2,500 contributed annually to an RESP by residents of Saskatchewan, up to a lifetime maximum of $4,500. But, as of January 1, 2018, this program is on hold.

Bright Tip: Complete a Saskatchewan Advantage Grant for Education Savings (SAGES) application and submit it to your plan sponsor so it’s ready if and when SAGES is reinstated in the future.

Invest in your future engineer

Raising your little superstar can be chaotic so we made saving for their future education simple.

Lorsque vous investissez pour l’éducation d’un enfant, le gouvernement le fait aussi.Lorsque vous investissez pour l’éducation d’un enfant, le gouvernement le fait aussi.

La Subvention canadienne pour l’épargne-études (SCEE) est offerte à tout bénéficiaire qui est un résident canadien et qui détient un REEE. Le gouvernement du Canada verse un montant équivalent à 20 % des cotisations à un REEE, jusqu’à concurrence de 500 $ par année, et jusqu’à concurrence de 7 200 $ à vie par enfant. Autrement dit, en investissant environ 2 500 $ par année pendant 15 ans, vous pourriez être admissible à 7 200 $ en subventions gouvernementales pour votre être cher.

Vous pourriez aussi avoir droit à des subventions provinciales supplémentaires, selon votre revenu et votre province. Par exemple :

  • Le gouvernement du Québec verse 10 % de la première tranche de 2 500 $ cotisée annuellement à un REEE par les résidents du Québec, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 600 $ à vie. De plus, le REEE de votre enfant pourrait, selon votre revenu familial, être admissible à 5 % à 10 % de plus sur la première tranche de 500 $ cotisée au REEE chaque année.
  • Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique offre une subvention unique de 1 200 $ aux enfants âgés de 6 ans à 9 ans moins un jour qui vivent en Colombie-Britannique et qui ont un compte REEE admissible.
  • Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan versait 10 % de la première tranche de 2 500 $ cotisée annuellement à un REEE par les résidents de la Saskatchewan, jusqu’à concurrence de 4 500 $ à vie. Cependant, ce programme est en suspens depuis le 1er janvier 2018.

Conseil futé : Faites une demande de la Subvention pour l’épargne-études Avantage de la Saskatchewan (SEEAS) et soumettez-la au promoteur de votre régime pour qu’elle soit prête si jamais le programme SEEAS est redémarré.

Investissez dans l'avenir de votre future ingénieur

Élever un tout-petit n'est pas toujours facile, c'est pourquoi nous avons simplifié l'épargne en vue de ses études postsecondaires.